Tomato Mozzarella Salad & The Moment I’ve Been Working Towards

She did it. Actually, they both did.

Unprompted, they willingly took some tomato mozzarella salad from the communal bowl on the dinner table. It’s exactly what I’ve been working towards. Without even knowing it really. For more than a year. I honestly hadn’t even formed the thought that she might do it so it was a complete surprise.  It’s my glee 2 weeks later that tells me I knew what I wanted. In my gut. And it wasn’t just the salad.

What I’m doing is working. Their palates have evolved. Just that little bit like the generation of monkeys with tails a tiny bit shorter than their elders. One step closer to human she is. A picky eater turned gourmand.

Alright Ms. Exaggeration you are getting ahead of yourself but THE KID TOOK IT ON HER OWN! Booya.

So many people ask me for this recipe as I bring this melange of goodness to many gatherings and serve it at nearly every dinner hosted here at home. It’s so easy and beautiful in a white bowl.

Tanja’s Tomato Mozzarella Salad

500g bocconcini, cocktail ball size, halved (47 balls approx)

2lbs grape tomatos, halved length wise

giant handful basil, julienned or chopped to your aesthetic preference

1/2 onion, minced

2-3 cloves garlic, minced

Dressing: 

(experiment here as I do it by feel)

Approximately equal parts:

  • balsamic vinigar
  • olive oil
  • orange juice

kosher salt & black pepper to taste

cayenne, if desired, to taste

juice of two limes

heaping tablespoon brown sugar to sweeten and thicken dressing, to taste

Let stand, covered, at room temperature for a few hours before serving. Garnish with more basil leaves.

How did I get her to help herself? I’ll tell you straight up. Every time I made this and served it as part of our family dinner, I put two halves of grape tomato and two halves of a small bocconcini ball on her plate. She had to eat that. That’s one tomato and one tiny ball of cheese people. I made the dressing a bit more sugary and a bit less vinegar-y than I would normally like as an adult. They like sugar and scoff at vinegar. Even imported balsamic gooeyness.

That’s it.

One thought on “Tomato Mozzarella Salad & The Moment I’ve Been Working Towards

  1. Pingback: Participating in the Family, As A Family « The Power of Parenting

Leave a Reply

